Advisory Board

The Advisory Board consists of experts that strongly support our work and provide us with critical strategic advice as we press forward with solutions to increase college access and improve student success. Please note, organization affiliation is listed for identification purposes only.


Roberta Achtenburg

Member, Board of Trustees California State University


Frank Alvarez

Education Advocate


Barbara Beno

President Accrediting Commission for Community & Junior Colleges Western Association of Schools and Colleges


Parker Blackman

CEO Bluebell Giving


Christopher Cabaldon

Mayor West Sacramento


Maria Casillas

President Families in Schools


Carol Chandler

Owner Chandler Farm

Roberta Furger

Associate Director, Organizing & Policy PICO California


Linda Griego

Chairman & CEO Martin Luther King, Jr. Community Hospital Foundation


Matthew Haney

Executive Director University of California Student Association


Dr. Steven Kinsella

President Gavilan College


Robin Kramer

Trustee Pitzer College


David Mas Masumoto

Author & Owner Masumoto Family Farms

Eliseo Medina

Secretary-Treasurer SEIU International

Miles Nevin

Executive Director California State Student Association

John Nixon

Associate Vice President Accrediting Commission for Community & Junior College

Alex Pader

Past President Student Senate for the Calfornia Community Colleges

Judy Patrick

President & CEO The Women’s Foundation of California

Arun Ramanathan

Executive Director Education Trust West

Gabriel A. Sandoval

Partner Atkinson, Andelson, Loya, Ruud & Romo

Deborah Santiago

Co-founder & Vice President Policy and Research Excelencia in Education

William Scroggins

President & CEO Mt. San Antonio College

Christopher Steinhauser

Superintendent Long Beach Unified School District

Sara Steinhoffer

Vice President, Government Affairs Sharp HealthCare

Gary Toebben

President Los Angeles Area

Van Ton-Quinlivan

Vice Chancellor, Workforce & Economic Development California Community Colleges Chancellor’s Office

David Valladolid

National President & CEO Parent Institute for Quality Education

John Welty

Former President California State University, Fresno

Carol Whiteside

Founder & President Emeritus The Great Valley Center

Deacon John Wilson

Education & Enrichment Ministry Director West Angeles Church of God in Christ

Kent Wong

Director UCLA Labor Center for Labor Research and Education

Members of our Senior Faculty Advisory Body are experts in the fields of higher education and public policy and serve as reviewers for our research, providing critical feedback on our major reports.

Estela Mara Bensimon
Professor, Co-Director
USC Rossier Center for Urban Education
Cheryl Blanco
Vice President for Special Projects
Southern Regional Education Board
Steve Boilard
Executive Director
Center for CA Studies
Henry Brady
Goldman School for Public Policy at UC Berkeley
David Breneman
Professor in Economics of Education
University of Virginia
Darla Cooper
Director of Research and Evaluation
The RP Group
Michelle Asha Cooper
Institute for Higher Education Policy
John Douglass
Senior Research Fellow, Public Policy and Higher Education
Center for Studies in Higher Education
Robert Gabriner
Program Director, Educational Leadership Doctoral Program for Schools and Community Colleges
San Francisco State
Mary Gill

Retired CA Community College Chancellor’s Office & State Legislature

Carrie Hahnel
Director of Policy and Research
Education Trust-West
Hans Johnson
Senior Fellow
Public Policy Institute of California
Dennis Jones
National Center for Higher Education Management Systems
David Kirp
Professor of Public Policy
UC Berkeley
Kay McClenney
Center for Community College Student Engagement
University of Texas at Austin
Colleen Moore
Research Specialist
Institute for Higher Education Leadership and Policy
Sacramento State University
Dowell Myers
Professor and Director
USC Sol Price School of Public Policy, Population Dynamics Research Group
John Rogers
Associate Professor
UCLA Graduate School of Education and Information Studies,
Institute for Democracy, Education and Access
Deborah Santiago
Co-Founder and Vice President of Policy and Research
Excelencia in Education
Nancy Shulock
Professor and Executive Director
Institute for Higher Educatiion Leadership and Policy
Sacramento State University
William Tierney
Professor and Co-Director
USC Rossier Pullias Center for Higher Education
Jane Wellman
Executive Director
National Association of System Heads
David Wright
Associate Executive Director for Strategic Planning & Policy Research
Tennessee Higher Education Coordinating Board