Previously Sponsored and Supported Bills

SB 890: Early Commitment to College Bill of 2008


The bill that created Early Commitment to College (ECC), SB 890 was sponsored by the Campaign for College Opportunity. It enjoyed broad-based bipartisan support and was passed by the legislature and signed into law by Governor Schwarzenegger in September 2008. This act assures that if students sign a pledge to work hard, stay in school, and take the steps they need to make it to college, the state of California promises to make sure there is a spot in college and financial aid available when they get there. There are currently 119 school districts implementing ECC, reaching more than 80,000 students statewide.

Download the policy summary


Senator Jack Scott (D-Pasadena)

Principal Co-Authors:

Assembly Member Anthony Portantino (D-Pasadena), Assembly Speaker Karen Bass (D-Los Angeles) Co-Authors for Senate Bill 890 Co-Authors: Assembly Members Greg Aghazarian (R-Stockton), Juan Arambula (D-Fresno), Karen Bass (D-Los Angeles), Jim Beall (D- San Jose), Patty Berg (D-Eureka), Tom Berryhill (R-Modesto), Julia Brownley (D-Woodland Hills), Ana Caballero (D-Salinas), Wilmer Amina Carter (D-San Bernardino), Joe Coto (D-San Jose), Mike Davis (D-Los Angeles), Kevin De Leon (D-Los Angeles), Mark DeSaulnier (D-Martinez), Mervyn Dymally (D-Compton), Bill Emmerson (R-Rancho Cucamonga), Mike Eng (D-Monterey Park), Noreen Evans (D-Santa Rosa), Felipe Fuentes (D-San Fernando), Mike Feuer (D-West Hollywood), Jean Fuller (R-Bakersfield), Warren Furutani (D-Long Beach), Cathleen Galgiani (D-Stockton), Loni Hancock (D-El Cerrito), Jared Huffman (D-San Rafael), Dave Jones (D-Sacramento), Betty Karnette (D-Long Beach), Paul Krekorian (D-Glendale), John Laird (D-Santa Cruz), Sally Lieber (D-San Jose), Fiona Ma (D-San Francisco), Tony Mendoza (D-Artesia), Gene Mullin (D-San Mateo), Pedro Nava (D-Santa Barbara), Nicole Parra (D-Bakersfield), Anthony Portantino (D-Pasadena), Curren Price (D-Los Angeles), Mary Salas (D-Chula Vista), Jose Solorio (D-Santa Ana), Sandré Swanson (D-Oakland), Alberto Torrico (D-Fremont); Senators Elaine Alquist (D–San Jose), Lou Correa (D-Santa Ana), Jeff Denham (R–Merced), Denise Moreno-Ducheny (D-Chula Vista), Abel Maldonado (R-San Luis Obispo), Alex Padilla (D–Van Nuys), Gloria Romero (D–Los Angeles), Jack Scott (D-Pasadena), Mark Wyland (R-San Juan Capistrano)


The Campaign for College Opportunity

Organizational Endorsers

Advancement Project
Applied Research Center (ARC)
Asian Pacific Advance!
Affordable Housing Development Corporation
Alameda County Office of Education
ALL Student Loan
American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees (AFSCME)
American Jewish Committee
Anaheim City School District
Antioch Unified School American Legal Center (APALC)
Association of Independent California Colleges and Universities (AICCU)
Automobile Club of Southern California
AVID (Advancement Via Individual Determination) – StatewideAVID –
Delta Sierra Region VI
Bay Area Council
Bay Area Immigrant Rights Coalition
California Catholic Conference
California Chamber of Commerce
California Community College Trustees
California Coast Credit Union
California Postsecondary Education Commission (CPEC)
California School Board Association (CSBA)
California State Faculty Association
California State Parent Teacher Association (CSPTA)
California State Student Association (CSSA)
California State University
California Farm Bureau
Californians for Justice (CFJ)
California State Treasurer Bill Lockyer
California Tomorrow
Central Valley Higher Education Consortium
Chandler Farms, LP
Chief Executive Officers of the California Community Colleges
Citrus College
CJ – Ventures
College of the Sequoia
College Options
Community Action Partnership of Kern
Community Coalition
Compact for Success
San Diego State University
Contoural Inc.
Contra Costa College
Coronado Unified School District Board
Families In Schools
Fullerton School District
Garvey Unified School District
Gay and Lesbian Adolescent Social Services, Inc.
Girls Incorporated of Orange County
Golden West College
Great Valley Center
Grossmont-Cuyamaca Community College District
Hispanic Association of Colleges and Universities (HACU)
Hispanic Leadership Council
Hispanas Organized for Political Equality (HOPE)
Inner City Struggle
Kern County Hispanic Chamber of Commerce
League of Women Voters of California (LWV)
Labor Project for Working Families
Linking Education and Economic Development
Los Angeles Chamber of Commerce
Los Angeles County Federation of Labor AFL-CIO
Los Angeles Unified School District (LAUSD)
Merced City School District
Merced Community College District
Merced County Office of Education
Mexican American Community Services Agency, Inc. (MACSA)
Mexican American Legal Defense and Educational Fund (MALDEF)
Modesto Chamber of Commerce
Modesto Junior College
Oakland Community Organizations
Oakland Unified School District
Orange County Department of Education Superintendent
Oxnard Union High School District
Stone Corral Elementary School District
Teamsters Local Union No. 70
UCLA Institute for Democracy Education & Access (IDEA)
United Way of Greater Los Angeles
University of California
University of California at Berkeley, Center for Educational Partnerships
West Los Angeles College
Wilshire Industries, Inc.
Yosemite Community College District
Youth Leadership Institute (YLI)
Yuba Community College District
Union High School District
Pacific Gas & Electric (PG&E)
Parent Institute for Quality Education (PIQE)
Pat Brown Institute (PBI)

PICO California
Pierce College
Project Access
Public Advocates
Reach Out West End
Rio Linda Union School District
Ruiz Foods
Saddleback Valley Unified School District
Salinas Valley Chamber of Commerce
Salvadoran-American Leadership and Educational Fund
San Bernardino County Office of Education
San Diego Community College District
San Diego County Office of Education
San Diego State University, Access Initiatives
San Marcos High School
Santa Ana Chamber of Commerce
Savanna School District
Silicon Valley Leadership Group
Sonoma County Superintendent of Schools
Southern California Edison
South Orange County Community College District
Southwestern College
Stanislaus County Office of Education
Stanislaus County Planning Commission
Stanislaus Pride Center

School Districts Implementing Early Commitment to College Since 2009

The majority of the 119 school districts implementing this program began their efforts in 2010. However, the following districts served as “early adopters” and piloted the program beginning in 2009:

Cascade Union Elementary School District
Corcoran Unified School District
Delhi Unified School District
Enterprise Elementary School District
Evergreen Union School District
Le Grand Union Elementary School
Livingston Unified School District
Los Angeles Unified School District
Los Banos Unified School District
Merced City Elementary School District
Merced River Elementary School District
Oakland Unified School District
Patterson Unified School District
Porterville Unified School District
Tulare County Office of Education
Woodland Joint Unified School District