2019 Legislative Dean’s List

January 8th

On Wednesday, January 8, 2020, the Campaign opened the New Year with our inaugural Legislative Dean’s List celebration, honoring seven policy champions in the fight to achieve greater college opportunity for all California students. Our 2019 Dean’s List honorees are exemplary leaders in crafting student-centered policy in pursuit of increasing college affordability, undocumented student support, higher education coordination, and racial equity.
We are incredibly grateful to have partners that truly stand for college access and success for all Californians. The determination of our seven honorees not only pushes the needle for bold policy, but also sets the path for other policymakers to create an equitable higher education system that can empower and support California’s diverse student population.
The following individuals received distinctions for their commitment to increasing college opportunity:

Distinction in College Affordability

(L-R): Campaign President Michele Siqueiros, Senator Connie Leyva, and award co-presenter Danny Thirakul.

Senator Richard Roth

Distinction in Statewide Higher Ed Leadership

Assemblymember Evan Low

(L-R): Campaign Senior Policy & Program Associate Katrina Linden, Assemblymember Low, and Senator Ben Allen

Distinction in Undocumented Student Support

L-R: President Michele Siqueiros, Assemblymember Monique Limón, and award co-presenter Iris (CHIRLA)

Assemblymember Jesse Gabriel

Distinction in Student-Centered Policy

Kimberly Rodriguez (Legislative Director, Office of
Senate President pro Tempore Toni G. Atkins)
and President Michele Siqueiros

We also invited the student organizations who guided policymakers to assist us in honoring our education leaders. Our student co-presenters included:

Danny Thirakul, President of the Student Senate of the California Community Colleges to award Senator Connie Leyva
Varsha Sarveshwar, President of the University of California Student Association to award Senator Richard Roth
Grace Pang, Vice President of Legislative Student Affairs at the Cal State Student Association to award Assemblymember Evan Low and Senator Ben Allen
Iris, Coalition for Humane Immigrant Rights (CHIRLA) to award Assemblymembers Monique Limón and Jesse Gabriel

View the photo gallery

2019 Legislative Dean's List