2024 Legacy Rooted in Partnership

June 13th
5:30 PM PST

Vision and Action for Equity: Legacy Rooted in Partnership celebrated the 20-year legacy of Michele Siqueiros’ leadership and welcomed Jessie Ryan as the next President. With students and racial equity always serving as their North Star, Michele and Jessie have worked together for 19 years to advance some of the state’s most significant policies for students, strengthening transfer, creating stronger pathways to a four-year degree, securing billions in state investments for higher education, and more.

As we usher in this next era of student-centered growth and success for the Campaign under Jessie’s leadership and honor Michele’s incredible contributions to higher education over the last two decades, we want to recognize the recipients of our 20th Anniversary Legacy Award. The Legacy Honorees have played a pivotal role in making the Campaign an unparalleled force for students.

Founders’ Award

David Wolf, PhD

Co-Founder of the Campaign for College Opportunity

Stephen S. Weiner

Co-Founder Campaign for College Opportunity

Antonia Hernandez

Founding Board Member Campaign for College Opportunity

William Hauck

Founding Board Member Campaign for College Opportunity

Abdi Soltani

Executive Director of the Campaign for College Opportunity

Stewards’ Award

Michele Siqueiros

Senior Executive Advisor

Jessie Ryan


Audrey Dow

Senior Advisor

Student Partner Award

Students Making A Change

Student Senate for California Community Colleges

California State Student Association

University of California Student Association

Partner Award

Equity Legacy Award

Estela Bensimon, Ed.D.

University Professor Emerita, University of Southern California; Founder, Center for Urban Education; Board Member, Campaign for College Opportunity

Maria Blanco

Former Executive Director
UC Immigrant Legal Services Center

Pamela Burdman

Executive Director, Just Equations

Pamela Haynes

California Community Colleges
Board of Governors

Eloy Ortiz Oakley

President and CEO
College Futures Foundation
Former Board Member
Campaign for College Opportunity

Vincent Pan

Co-Executive Director
Chinese for Affirmative Action

Fred Ruiz

Chairman Emeritus
Ruiz Foods
Founding Board Member
Campaign for College Opportunity

J. Luke Wood, Ph.D.

Sacramento State University
Board Secretary
Campaign for College Opportunity

Policy Legacy Award

Alex Padilla

US Senator

Jacqui Irwin

California State Assemblymember, District 42

Research Legacy Award

Hans Johnson

Senior Fellow
Public Policy Institute of California Higher Education Center

Nancy Shulock

Executive Director
Institute for Higher Education Leadership & Policy
Sacramento State University

Philanthropic Legacy Award

Max Espinoza

Senior Program Officer, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

Evelyn & Walter Haas Jr. Fund

The Kresge Foundation